2 year old that won’t settle at night

Since moving our 3 boys into the largest room a couple weeks ago we’ve had no end of trouble trying to get our 2 year old to settle at night.It’s almost like he thinks there is too much for him to see and do,so he won’t sleep.We’ve tried putting him up to bed extra early so he can play for a while,reading to him.No matter what we try he wont go to sleep until around 11pm,by which time I’m exhausted.As he is now sharing bunk beds with his older brother our main concern is his safety.He has figured out how to climb up to the top bunk,so now my heart is in my mouth until he finally falls asleep.That and the fact that baby Ethan thinks 6am is now a good time to wake up makes for a very tired mummy.I am just pleased that the insomnia I have suffered with for periods of my adult life is not currently an issue.Mind you I really shouldn’t speak too soon.I might try taking him upstairs to play during the day so his room becomes less of a novelty.It’s worth a try.At this stage I’ll give anything a shot.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clare
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 09:38:53

    Hey nicky, li has never been one for sleeping, she was on medicine to knock her out for ages then we tried baby massage and believe it or not meditation through story and they both worked. Even now when she is stressed out i do a small bit of head massage to calm her, and she loves the meditation stories still at 10. As she got older i used to use meditation story tapes and these were fab cos i could just stick them on when she was tucked up in bed and she would be out like a light. I totally swear by baby massage tho as it is also relaxing for the parent, and you can see the difference it is having on your child.

    Reply

  2. Nicola Seary
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 10:02:26

    I’ve never been a great sleeper as an adult.I get about 5-6 hours sleep on average a night now.Might see if I can find video’s on you tube for baby massage.Thanks for the tip-something I hadn’t thought of.Will let you know how I get on.Where did you get the meditation stories from? xxx

    Reply

  3. Melanie Edjourian
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 22:50:33

    i can totally sympathise, my eldest is 2.5 and she will only fall asleep in our bed then has 2 be carried to hers and then if she wakes up she come back in2 our bed, then the 1 yr old has started waking up again at night 2 or 3 times, im like the walking dead xxx

    Reply

  4. Nicola Seary
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 23:04:44

    We bought Bunk beds for my 11 year to share with our 2 year old,seemed likesuch a good idea at the time but our 2 year old keeps climbing onto the top bunk,he cant get back down again.I come up to find him just stood there,my heart’s in my mouth when I see him.Think we are going to turn the bunk bed around so that the ladder is by the wall and he can’t climb up it.I think a strict bedtime routine might help,problem is with 5 kids that can be difficult as the 3 eldest have school and pre-school.Will keep you updated with how we get on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

