“Murder of Burglar”

How can people defending their own property be arrested for murder? I have very strong opinions in this area. If people feel that their life is in danger due to the fact that someone,or in this case,even more terrifying,a group of people have broke into their house,then how can this be viewed as murder? Yes,there was intent to harm by the householders but we do not yet know the circumstances surrounding this event.If I’d have been in that situation I’d have done anything to defend my family.I can’t think of anything more terrifying than to find  a burglar in my home.It is such a violation.In this day and age there are so many dangerous people about and even though I don’t condone violence in any way,shape or form I can’t say I wouldn’t react the same if I felt my family were at risk.I’d like to know more “facts” about the case before forming a fixed judgement.I hope the accomplice are found and punished accordingly.I also hope the householder’s that were arrested are treated and judged fairly.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise Loubabes Howgego
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 17:19:55

    I agree with everything you have said hun, if someone broke into my house I would do exactly the same thing to defend my family. I think the law needs to be changed, if this man is charged and found guilty it is giving all burglars the right to do whatever they please and know that in most cases the person they burgle wont fight back, very scary 😦

    Reply

    • nickimumof5
      Jun 25, 2011 @ 17:27:52

      I studied Criminology for awhile at Uni and feel from what I studied aswell as personal experience that the system is definitely set up more to protect the criminals than the average law abiding citizen.I didn’t complete my degree but hope to one day finish via the Open University.I became disillusioned with a system which I had previously had faith in.I have respect for the law,I just wish the law had as much respect for victims of crime as it seems to have for criminals.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

