Frugal family feeding

This week in our house we have decided to become a bit more Frugal after noticing more and more,the amount of food that we waste on a daily basis.Tommorow we are off to the local market for Meat,fruit and veg.Then to get baking supplies-new tins for cakes,baking paper aswell as Flour,sugar,eggs,baking powder,vanilla essence,jam and cocoa powder.I have cut back drastically on junk food recently as my 8 year old daughter has had to have a couple fillings,a special coating to protect her teeth and a tooth extraction,all in the space of a week. My theory is: If we make more food from scratch and the children help get more involved with the preparation of food,the wastage will hopefully decrease.We are going to make cakes and biscuits etc instead of buying them.I am going to use my slow cooker more and our bread maker.My 8 and 11 year olds already help prepare meals ocasionally,with guidance-My 11 year old son has even made Lasagne and Spaghetti Bolognese with minimal support.I try to encourage the children to eat lots of different types of fruit and veg as part of a healthy,balanced,diet.However I am guilty of letting them have too many sweets.Tooth brushing is now a huge daily event with a timer and stickers involved,making the whole process a bit more fun.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynn savage
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 22:08:39

    good on you for being more frugal, we are being frugal here too. if you need to buy new baking tins etc, try your local charity shops. i have bought some great baking tins from mine at brilliant prices and they are better quality than the ones i would have bought in the supermarket.

    Reply

    • nickimumof5
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 22:51:16

      I am a fan of bootsales,charity shops ,my biggest downfall is not being able to drive,if I could I’d be all over the place,saving money,getting things off freecycle etc.I am doing my best though.Any more tips would be gratefully recieved.Just made an incredible Bread pudding,cost so little to make yet tasted incredible.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Categories

