What happened to our summer?

Well,only 9 days and September will be here.I am doing pretty well with the back to school things that I need.I still need underwear for the kids and 2 pairs of school shoes,then I think we are done. This year,after an awful shopping trip last year with 4 kids and whilst being 6 months pregnant,I have decided to get everything in dribs and drabs rather than just 1 shopping trip and I have to say it has actually been a million times less stressful. At the best of times shopping anywhere for anything with 5 children can be a nightmare. Add that to a very busy city centre with lots of other harassed parents and there is my idea of hell. Last week I took my eldest son out to get new school shoes and trainers,only to find out he is now in between a size 9 and 9 and a half in mens shoes. I don’t think it will be long before he towers over me and I’m not tiny at a respectable 5 foot 7. My brothers’ are both tall-over 6 foot and Jacks dad is aprox 5 foot 10.
I recently bought the kids a 5 foot easy up paddling pool,but due to the bad weather we have yet to try it out.I was so excited,thought I’d found a real bargain-it was £13 including postage,it was originally £23 including postage,so I was feeling quite pleased with myself. That was until we went food shopping and I saw it on sale for a fiver. Oh well.I am hoping the kids will get the chance to use it before they go back to school. I really can’t believe how fast this so-called summer of ours’ has gone and really hope we have a couple nice days yet to come. Yesterday we went to a BBQ at my dads and luckily after a rather wet start to the day,the sun came out and it ended up being a beautiful day.
This week we have trips to the eye unit for 2 and 4-year-old,they wont be too impressed as 2-year-old is still refusing to wear his glasses for more than a few minutes at a time. I made a couple batches of cakes today,1 lot was a basic fairy cake with raisins added to it-the kids have loved these and the 2nd lot were double chocolate chip cakes. I love baking but am not a natural and it seems to be a case of trial and error. For example anything I make using Baking powder seems to have a strange aftertaste-no idea what I’m doing wrong.
I did have a brilliant recipe for Carrot cake with cream cheese icing which was so good but only 2 of us,mainly me ever ate. At the moment we are teaching my 11-year-old to cook decent meals. He can already cook Spaghetti Bolognese,Lasagne and Chicken Korma with minimal help. I feel it is important to teach my children how to cook a decent meal. I also aim to teach my son how to use a washing machine as I want him to be an independent,modern man in the future.
I hope you are all having a fantastic summer whatever you have been up to.

Leave a Reply

Categories

