Listography-5 Things I want to do this Summer

In no particular order.

1.Not moan or shout at the kids so much-Easier said than done in our busy household,I am going to try my best though.I have certain expectations from all of the children in regards to their behaviour but am aware that I can sometimes be a bit hard on them.

2.Get out and about more with the children-I find I don’t do as much with the kids as I used to.At one point a few years ago we would be doing something everyday.Even if its a trip to the local park or a picnic.We live near the forest but I am often limited due to the fact that I don’t drive so it can be awkward to get there.That said,my 8 year old daughter would love a trip round the Forest on an Open-top bus.

3.Read more to/with the kids-I am very guilty of not reading as much as I’d like to,theres always something else that crops up.I think that maybe if I can find books that will captivate them all,it could be easier.Not sure if that’s possible though with the age ranges.I might have to have 2 reading groups-pre-school and school-aged.

4.Have some quality time with my husband without the kids-This I feel is very important.I don’t think we’ve had a night out by ourselves in about 2 years.A meal somewhere then maybe a trip to the cinema would be nice.

5.Cook more with the children from scratch-This is our current project and we have made or are planning on making:  Cakes,Biscuits,Lasagne,Casseroles.I really want my children-boys and girls to be independent and able to cook a decent for themselves when they are older.Our 4 year old daughter is currently having a few food-related issues-she had become extremely greedy and if we don’t allow her the food she wants she often sneaks out and takes it without our knowledge.I am finding this quite difficult as I don’t want to deprive the children of treats but I do want them all to have healthy,balanced diets.

Categories